Archives

We Want What We Want

An Esquire Best Book of Summer A collection of glittering, surprising, darkly funny stories of people testing the boundaries of their lives—from the award-winning author of Dual Citizens, who is “spoken of in the same reverent breath as Lorrie Moore and Joy Williams” (Heidi Julavits, author of The Folded Clock). In the mordantly funny “Money, . . . 

Categories:

Scorpionfish

A Best Book of the Year at NPR, Refinery29, and more After the unexpected deaths of her parents, young academic Mira returns to her childhood home in Athens. On her first night back, she encounters a new neighbor, a longtime ship captain who has found himself, for the first time in years, no longer at . . . 

Categories:

Ivory Shoals

In the tradition of Mark Twain and Cormac McCarthy comes this distinctly American, pulse-quickening epic from John Brandon, the acclaimed author of Citrus County and Arkansas. Twelve-year-old Gussie Dwyer—audacious, resilient, determined to adhere to the morals his mother instilled in him—undertakes to trek across the sumptuous yet perilous peninsula of post-Civil War Florida in search . . . 

Categories:

Group

REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK | NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The refreshingly original and “startlingly hopeful” (Lisa Taddeo) debut memoir of an over-achieving young lawyer who reluctantly agrees to group therapy and gets psychologically and emotionally naked in a room of six complete strangers—and finds human connection, and herself. Christie Tate had just been named the . . . 

Categories:

And Then They Stopped Talking To Me

Through the stories of kids and parents in the middle-school trenches, a New York Times bestselling author reveals why these years are so painful, how parents unwittingly make them worse, and what we all need to do to grow up. The French have a name for the uniquely hellish years between elementary school and high . . . 

Categories:

The Weil Conjectures

An eloquent blend of memoir and biography exploring the Weil siblings, math, and creative inspiration   Karen Olsson’s stirring and unusual third book, The Weil Conjectures, tells the story of the brilliant Weil siblings—Simone, a philosopher, mystic, and social activist, and André, an influential mathematician—while also recalling the years Olsson spent studying math. As she . . . 

Categories:

Driven

For fans of Wild, a searing memoir about one woman’s road to hope following the death of her troubled brother, told through the series of cars that accompanied her   Growing up in a blue-collar family in the Midwest, Melissa Stephenson longed for escape. Her wanderlust was an innate reaction to the powerful personalities around . . . 

Categories:

Dual Citizens

A masterful achievement: a joint coming-of-age story and an achingly poignant portrait of the strange, painful, ultimately life-sustaining bonds between sisters. Lark and Robin are half-sisters whose similarities end at being named for birds. While Lark is shy and studious, Robin is wild and artistic. Raised in Montreal by their disinterested single mother, they form . . . 

Categories:

Trick Mirror

Jia Tolentino has become a peerless voice of her generation, tackling the conflicts and contradictions and sea changes that define us and our time. Now, in this dazzling and entirely original collection of nine essays, written with a rare combination of give and sharpness, wit and fearlessness, she delves into the forces that warp our . . . 

Categories:

The Sopranos Sessions

On January 10, 1999, a mobster walked into a psychiatrist’s office and changed TV history. By shattering preconceptions about the kinds of stories the medium should tell, The Sopranos launched our current age of prestige television, paving the way for such giants as Mad Men, The Wire, Breaking Bad, and Game of Thrones. As TV . . . 

Categories: